PDA

View Full Version : N15 SSS Tomei Poncam Installation

leon
28th July 2006, 06:43 PM
Hi Guys,

I have been trawling these forums for a few years now, but am a newbie to posting up for advice. I hope I dont get flamed LOL because I have searched every possible post relating to Cams before I had my installation of them done today.

I have just had the Tomei Poncams (260 degrees, 11.2m lift) installed into my pulsar and gained 91KW on the dyno with my timing set to 19 degrees. Pretty happy about those figures considering the car was dyno'd before the cams and produced 79KW.

My question is however, now that I have a lumpier idle (which is expected I know), but when downshifting to a stop and putting the car into neutral it will conk out. This I'm hoping would just be a matter of upping the idle a tad, however what do you guys think? I know some of you have these cams so your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also, when I bought these Tomei's, I noticed it didnt have the tomei engraving on the cam? I thought they all did? Can anyone clarify? I bought these from GCCorp.com.au btw...

Regards.
Leon

jemN14sss
28th July 2006, 06:51 PM
Out of all the Tomei cams i have seen, i have never seen any engraved.

CoZZm0
28th July 2006, 06:54 PM
no engraving on mine from what i remember. if you bought them from gccorp and they came in tomei boxes then they're tomei cams 'ey...

having the car conk out is semi-common, you need to raise the base idle, should sort it out.

leon
28th July 2006, 06:56 PM
Sweet guys, thanks for the information :)

gmc
28th July 2006, 11:33 PM
The Tomei cams seem to be made from the same blanks as the factory cams... if you look very carefully at the casting marks, they have all the same numbers etc... :)